The Final Four

Finally catching up on my posts!  My challenge was completed on Tuesday and I’m just now gonna write about it!  Such a busy time of year, I’ve been too tired to post at night.  There’s art shows, driver’s testing, tennis finals, and all the regular daily busy-ness!!

This morning my son took his road test and passed the first time 🙂 Yay, new anxiety for me.  Thank God the age for driving in New Jersey is 17 and not 16.  I still think THAT’S too young!  He turned 17 in November, but I didn’t feel he was ready to test (neither did he!)  He wasn’t pushing it either, so he practiced a lot since then.  I finally realized I can’t put it off any longer.  He needs to be able to drive now.  It’s not his driving I am worried about.  It’s all the other drivers.  So it’s done.  He is licensed, and I am very happy for him.  Another milestone.  Another rite of passage.

So, yes.  My first W30 Challenge is finished!  I really did it!  I am so, so happy I got through it.  It had its ups and downs, especially with cravings and prepping which I complained about, BUT overall…..it was so worth it.  Coming out of this, I feel as healthy as ever, I am sleeping better, I lost a dress size, I lost inches, have more definition in a few areas, and dropped 8 pounds.  I am really proud of myself.

So, now what?  My plan was to just go back to watching my calories and keep doing the exercise I am doing: kick boxing, running, and bootcamps.  When the morning of my first day off the challenge came around, you know what I wanted for breakfast?  Eggs, baby kale, and chorizo.  A W30 compliant breakfast.  That’s what I had.  I just really love how I feel eating this way.  It did something to me.

Another thing that I noticed on a daily basis is that I wasn’t counting down the hours to my next meal because I was so satisfied with what I was eating!  There is so much freedom in that!  Any other plan I tried I would never be full from a meal.  It was always, “When can I eat next?”  Well, with this way of eating, I experienced none of that.  In fact there were days when lunch or dinner rolled around, and I just wasn’t hungry yet.  I still lost weight and inches!  How awesome is that?

I was just complaining last week about the prep and wanting a cupcake.  I just don’t think I’ll feel good going back to another way or plan of eating.  So, I think I’ll follow a mainly Paleo way of eating and see what happens.  I collected a ton of recipes over the past month and the majority are meals I know my family will like too.  That takes some of the hassle away.  Also, Paleo isn’t as strict as Whole 30 and that will be nice.

We are having a party this Sunday and I plan to fully enjoy it!  Like I said, I’ll follow mainly Paleo.  I will allow certain things and just see where it takes me.  I’ll have many yummy good options this Sunday such as ginger steamed clams, and beachy shrimp, but we’ll also have fresh pineapple margaritas and lots of great beer.  Oh yes, and desserts……s’mores pie, fruit tart from Wegman’s, and ice cream goodies.  I’ll resume Paleo the next day!

So, just to finish this out, here is what I ate my last 4 days.

Day 27, Saturday

Breakfast: 2 fried eggs, baby kale, brussel sprouts, and a leftover crab cake.

Image

I can’t wait to make these crab cakes again.  Link to the recipe is in the previous post.

Lunch: Chicken and Avocado Soup, recipe here: http://www.mamamiss.com/2013/03/27/eats-chicken-avocado-soup/

Image

Delicious!!

Dinner:  More soup.  I loved it.

Day 28, Sunday

Breakfast: The usual fried eggs, kale, brussels.  I know I am boring.

Lunch:  More awesome soup.  Finished it.

Dinner:  Grilled london broil.  Forgot to take a picture of my plate, but here is my adorable dog, Teddie watching Mike slice it up 🙂

Image

Day 29, Monday

Breakfast: 2 fried eggs, chopped up london broil, kale, brussels, and a sprinkling of hot sauce

Image

Lunch:  More steak and a sweet potato

Dinner:  Roasted chicken, succulent as always.  here’s my empty plate…..

Image

Day 30, Tuesday, The Last Day

I had a full morning of kick boxing with an hour long boot camp, so breakfast and lunch turned into brunch early afternoon!

Brunch:  Scrambled eggs, brussels, and leftover roasted chicken.  Divine!!

Dinner:  Orange Chicken, recipe here: http://fastpaleo.com/paleo-orange-chicken/

Image

Ok, this looks nothing like the pic on the website, but it was really good.  My sauce didn’t thicken at all, so it drained to the bottom of the serving bowl.  It was a delicious combo of sweet and spicy.  Loved using the fresh orange juice and zest!  This would be awesome with shrimp.

That’s the end of this journey.  The challenge anyway.  I think as I continue to try new recipes I’ll try and post them.

Wishing everyone else success on their journeys whatever they may be.  Always remember to be grateful every day.  Never give up 🙂

Leave a Reply

