Day 4 and Going Strong

Good eating day today.  Made some changes to what was planned, but still followed the rules……pretty much.  I made this awesome breakfast casserole.  One of the ingredients is chorizo…..love.  Well, I never checked the ingredients when I bought it.  So while I am cooking it up I glance at the packaging…….crap, there is dry milk in it.  Whole 30 rule….NO DAIRY.  Great, just great.  I had the eggs whipped up, the sausage sizzling in the pan, onion chopped, sweet potato slivered and ready to go.  I should have tossed the sausage, right?  I didn’t.  I used it anyway.  Was this a huge no-no?  I feel like it’s not, or shouldn’t be.  I don’t believe it would completely derail the plan.  Does this mean I have to start back at Day 1?  Well I’m not.  A mistake was made and I’m still going to eat it because it was delicious.  Hopefully it’s not a significant amount of dairy and won’t mess me up.  This feels like a confession!!

I did wake up with a pretty bad headache today.  Whether it’s from the plan or not, I don’t know, but it’s been bad all day.

I ended up not going kick boxing like I was planning on, but not because of the headache.  I had to stick around because an auto insurance appraiser had to come check out the Honda Pilot which was hit in the Shop Rite parking lot AS i was putting groceries in it.  It happened on my daughter’s birthday, a week and a half ago.  The woman who hit it and almost knocked my own car into me had to be about 88 years old.  Long story short, I ended up consoling her.  Sweet lady, but I hope she stops driving 🙂

So it has been over a week since I kick boxed!  UGH.  I am going tomorrow even though i’m not sure my right leg is ready for it.  I may have to modify some things, but I gotta go.  Then early, early Saturday morning I’ll attempt an hour outside training session with a new group of people and hopefully go right to kick boxing afterwards!  Yay!

On to the Food…..

Breakfast: Savory Breakfast Casserole recipe here:http://paleomg.com/savory-breakfast-casserole/  This was soooo good!  I can totally see changing up ingredients time to time.  Peppers and onions, sun-dried tomatoes……yummy.  On the side I had a sliced up plum tomato.

ImageImage

Lunch:  The casserole was so good, I had it again, a smaller portion though.  With it I had some sauteed organic spinach and a bit of leftover roasted chicken from last night.

Image

 

Dinner:  Tuna and Bok Choy Packet and sliced half avocado.  Recipe here: http://www.eatingwell.com/recipes/tuna_bok_choy_packets.html  This is something I’ve made before while not doing the Whole 30.  You can pretty much use any fish and veggie.  I’ve used tilapia and cod with asparagus.  Tonight I went with a tuna steak.  It’s pretty tasty!

302363_415555198543181_1452674870_n

Today is the first day I felt the difficult challenge of ignoring the other food in our house.  Whole 30 recommends you throw away everything from your pantry.  I can’t do that with 2 teenagers and my husband that I have to feed.  I’m doing this on my own, so that part is difficult.  I am also making a separate dinner for them sometimes.  Last night was great because they love roasted chicken.  Tonight….forget it.  They would never eat it.  It was hard making linguini and clam sauce for them and not have any.  I hope I can stay strong!

Time for bed.  I’m beat.  Headache be gone.

 

Leave a Reply

