Day 1!

Ok, so here it goes.  I am beginning the Whole 30 challenge today.  I am hoping by journaling publicly, it will keep me accountable for the next 30 days.  Blogging publicly is a scary thing in itself since I am such a private person.

The catalyst that brought me here is to break a plateau in my weight loss  Up to now, I’ve been keeping my calorie intake at roughly 1200cal/day.  It’s gotten me in shape and on a healthy path, but I have a little more to go.  I workout by taking intense kickboxing classes 4-5 times a week.  On average I burn 650 cals/hour in one class.  It’s an awesome hour of cardio and strength training.  Each instructor brings their own twist to it giving the classes a ton of variety.  No one class is ever the same.  One of these instructors got me interested in doing Whole 30.  She is a Superwoman and has been a huge inspiration and help getting me started!

Now, I know Whole 30 isn’t about losing weight, but about fueling your body with healthy good food.  I just know I need to do something different to break this plateau I’ve been stuck on since the holidays.  This is such a new way of eating for me, that it just may be what I need to make some kind of breakthrough, no matter how small it may be.  Even if I don’t lose weight, it certainly won’t be bad for me, and i think I can expect to see other positive changes.  Some outcomes I hope to see are increased body definition and hopefully an end to my afternoon sluggishness.

I already conquered a change I was dreading………no more Bailey’s Hazelnut creamer in my morning cup ‘o joe.  I threw it away last night so I wouldn’t be tempted to use it today.  I was contemplating still using it, I mean how bad would it really mess me up, just using 1 Tbsp every day?  But, I decided, if I am going to do this, I have to commit 100%.  In it’s place I used the “cream” from a refrigerated can of full fat coconut milk.  I have to say, it wasn’t bad.  It gave my coffee creaminess, but unfortunately, no sweetness.  I think I can handle it for the next 30 days.  Small challenge #1 accomplished!

So, on the menu today for me:

Breakfast: 2 large organic brown scrambled eggs cooked with coconut oil and sauteed baby kale and spinach.

528393_414387768659924_420466637_n

603714_414384978660203_2098768727_n

Lunch: Avocado Chicken Salad with a side of roasted asparagus…. Recipe here: http://relishscd.blogspot.ca/2012/11/avacado-chicken-salad-scd-paleo.html

20130422-133712.jpg

Dinner: Seafood Stew………it has shrimp and tilapia in it!  Recipe for the stew can be found here:  http://everydaypaleo.com/caribbean-seafood-stew.  I made this for tonight and it tastes and smells absolutely delicious!  I can’t wait to eat it!

So, I have my protein, veggies, and fats.  I am freaked out about portions……..I mean how much of this chicken salad is ok to have in one serving??  There isn’t any calorie counting with this challenge, and I find that quite daunting!  I am so afraid of over eating.  I guess I just have to learn as I go and welcome any suggestions, tips, and corrections since I feel like I don’t know what I am doing!  I am already guessing I didn’t have enough veggies with lunch.  Gotta work on that.

Oh and coconut oil?   LOVE it!  My house smells amazing 🙂

2 thoughts on “Day 1!

Leave a Reply

